Peggy Luplow presents Programs in North Eastern New Mexico

peggy 4_edited-1The subject of our first film, “Peggy’s Story” spoke in Clayton and Raton, New Mexico during October, presenting her own video of leaving a 15 year abuse marriage to rebuild her life and our second film on teen and date violence “Cheyanne’s Story“.  These communities  observe Domestic Violence Awareness Month each year with a moving  Candlelight Vigil complete with the help of: local school’s cheerleaders and glee clubs; monetary award presentations by the Kiwanis; the Professional Women’s Association; local law enforcement; and proclamations by their respective Mayor’s Office.  Peggy was presented with a t-shirt commemorating the recent “Knock-Out” fundraiser.  Peggy’s attendance at events of this nature serve to enhance the video’s message as she answers  questions following her presentation as well as discussing domestic violence issues.

On this occasion, Peggy spoke of the amazing similarities between “Cheyanne’s Story” and her own, remarking that although their situations of abuse occurred over 30 years apart, in two completely different cultures with close to 1,000 miles separating them – the guilt, struggles, fear and hope expressed were the same.  The high attendance and participation by the community representing all ages was so impressive and reaffirmed the fact that we all long for the right to live in our own homes without fear.  Audiences in both towns responded without hesitation when Peggy asked them if they agreed that this right should be a basic human right. The video showing was so well received and highly valued that a prominent teacher, attending from a nearby town, immediately requested that they be presented to his entire student body.  Plans are already underway to make Peggy and Cheyanne’s Stories available.

If you would like to arrange for Peggy to speak at your community event please contact us.

About JoAnne Tucker

JoAnne Tucker is the President of Healing Voices - Personal Stories, a non-profit organization with the mission of raising public awareness of women's strivings to overcome abusive trauma through the creation and distribution of film and video.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peggy Luplow presents Programs in North Eastern New Mexico

  1. Paul Wronkiewicz says:

    Peggy’s story is similar to my story. However when I went to counseling and tried to tell what was going on in my life, that my wife was attacking me, the counsel said, That couldn’t be true.

    When my wife went to a “Woman’s Shelter” with two of our children, claiming that she felt threatened by me. The police came to my house and tried to trip me up during their integration to get me to admit that I was abusing my wife. , When I asked them to speak with our children, the answer from the police was, “We do not want to involve the children.”

    My wife was arrested five times for domestic battery. I never hit my wife. At one trial, the Judge asked me, “How many times did had I hit my wife.” Before another trail, the Prosecutor told me, “She would have to be a pretty big woman to beat you up.”

    Paul

Leave a Reply

