Why Is Healing Voices-Personal Stories so Important To Me

Last week Jane Fonda spoke on Oprah’s TV Show about being in the Third Act of her life. She was full of energy and excited about a new work out series she was launching. I came away from the program with some new language to express the passion and drive I am feeling at this time in my life, my Third Act.

When I retired from my role as founder, choreographer and artistic director of The Avodah Dance Ensemble I was ready to express my creativity on canvas. Exploring pastel and oil painting satisfied me for a while but soon I was missing the collaborative energy that working with dancers and musicians had brought into my life. Moving to Santa Fe in the fall of 2009, I discovered the film community, began doing extra work, joined New Mexico Women in Film and took an acting for film course at Santa Fe Community College. The new experiences and people I met stimulated my thinking and creativity. Before long I found myself exploring a kernel of an idea.

Between 2002 and 2004, I had the opportunity of leading residencies in two women’s prisons with the Avodah Dance Ensemble. They were life changing experiences where I learned so much about myself and women in prison. I found myself constantly thinking about the experiences. I knew my work was not done in this area. I learned how many women where there because of abusive situations that they didn’t know how to get out of.  I read, watched documentaries and narratives, googled and read more learning about women dealing with abusive traumas and the idea for this organization began to develop.

We are in our infant stage.  Officially only 6 weeks old.  Slowly we are forming our Board, filling out all the legal documents and beginning to put the word out about who we are and what we hope to do.  I envision the next six months to be ones of finding people who want to join us on our journey.  And of course, defining our first project will be very important. My personal goal is that we will find a story of someone who is uniquely over coming abusive trauma in a way that can serve as a model to others.

About JoAnne Tucker

JoAnne Tucker is the President of Healing Voices - Personal Stories, a non-profit organization with the mission of raising public awareness of women's strivings to overcome abusive trauma through the creation and distribution of film and video.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Is Healing Voices-Personal Stories so Important To Me

  1. teenagemotherthenenlightenedwomannow says:

    I’d like to share my stories with you…I’m ready to share… all of it…and I’ve met some amazing people in the last 2 days that confirm for me that it’s time….even coming across this blog nudges my heart…God is certainly calling me out…please let me know if this is the appropriate form to use or send to an email… not sure if this form has a character maximum. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

